ECOWAS Lifts Economic Sanctions On Niger, Burkina Faso, Mali, Guinea


THE Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) today resolved to lift economic sanctions on Niger Republic, Burkina Faso, Mali and Guinea, a move seen as a diplomatic volte verse.

The resolution was taken at the extraordinary summit on the peace, political and security situation in the ECOWAS sub-region in Abuja. 

The sanctions were imposed at different times following the overthrow of constitutional governments in these countries by soldiers.  The sanctions were imposed in order to force a quick return to constitutional democracy.

In return for the gesture, ECOWAS asks its Niger, Mali and Burkina Faso to reconsider their decision to quit the regional body,  in view of the benefits enjoyed by their citizens. 

Other decisions made: 

Closure of land and air borders to Niger and a no-fly zone of all commercial flights suspended. 

Freezing of all financial transactions between ECOWAS states and Niger, including transactions relating to the bloc’s central bank and the unfreezing of all of Niger’s assets at the EBID suspended. 

Travel ban on members of Niger’s military junta and their families lifted. 

Ban on the election of Malians to ECOWAS positions lifted. 

Commercial sanctions on Guinea were also lifted.

Representatives of the four countries to attend technical consultative meetings of ECOWAS henceforth. 

The regional bloc, however, said the political and targeted sanctions remain.


Eighteen-Eleven Media


About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *