GenCos And DisCos Owners 


Nigerians are going through harrowing experiences with regard to electricity supply to their homes and offices, even as electricity generation and distribution companies continue to pass bulk as to who should be held responsible. 

Before the majority of the citizens suffer collective amnesia, Eighteen-Eleven Media publishes below the brains behind these companies and what was paid to acquire their licenses. 

Electricity Generating Companies (GenCos).

1. Transcorp/Woodrock Consortium 

(Ughelli Power Plant)

Mr Tony Elumelu, Mr Obinna Ufudo (CEO, Transcorp Group) Mr Adeoye Fadeyibi

$300 million :

Power Generation

2. Amperion Power Distribution Limited

(Geregu Power Plant)

Mr Femi Otedola (Chairman, Forte Oil), Mr Akin Akinfemiwa (CEO, Forte Oil)

$132 million

Power Generation

3. Mainstream Energy Solutions Limited

(Kainji Hydro Electric Plant and Jebba Hydro Station)

Col. Sani Bello (Chairman, Mainstream), Alhaji Ismaila Isa (Vice Chairman, Mainstream), Brig Gen. Tunde Ogbeha (Director, Mainstream)

$170 million

Power Generation

4. North-South Power Company Limited

(Shiroro Power Station)

Eng. Olubunmi Peters

$111.7 million

Power Generation

5. KEPCO Energy Resources Limited

(Egbin Power Station)

Mr Tonye Cole (CEO, Sahara Energy Group), Mr Tope Shonubi

$407.3 million

Power Generation

Electricity Distribution Companies (DisCos)

6. NEDC/KEPCO Consortium

Asset: Ikeja Electricity Distribution Company

Cost: $131 million

Mr Kola Adesina (Chairman NEDC/KEPCO), Mr Tonye Cole (CEO, Sahara Energy Group), Mr Tope Shonubi (Executive Director, Sahara Energy Group)

$131 million

7. Vigeo Power Limited

Asset: Benin Electricity Distribution Company

Mr Victor Gbolade Osibodu (Chairman, Vigeo Holdings) Mrs Funke Osibodu (CEO, Vigeo Power)

$129 million

8. KANN Utility Consortium Company Limited

Asset: Abuja Electricity Distribution Company

Alhaji Shehu Malami (Chairman, KANN Consortium), Mr Neil Croucher (CEO, KANN Consortium)

$164 million

9. Sahelian Power SPV Limited

Asset: Kano Electricity Distribution Company

Alhaji Yusuf Hamisu Abubakar (CEO, Sahelian Power), Alhaji Umaru Mutallab (Chairman, Sahelian Power)

$102 million

10. 4Power Consortium Limited

Asset: Port Harcourt Electricity Distribution Company

Mr Augustine Nwokocha (Chairman, 4Power Consortium), Governors of Bayelsa, Cross River, Akwa Ibom and Rivers State

$124 million

11. Integrated Energy Distributing and Marketing Limited

Asset: Ibadan Electricity Distribution Company, Yola Electricity Distribution Company

Gen. Abdulsalami Abubakar (Chairman, Integrated Energy), Mr Tunde Ayeni (Vice Chairman, Integrated Energy), Dr Sola Ayandele (CEO Integrated Energy)

$126.75 million

12. Interstate Electrics Limited

Asset: Enugu Electricity Distribution Company

Sir Emeka Offor (Chairman, Interstate Electrics Limited)

107.4 million

13. West Power and Gas Limited

Asset: Eko Electricity Distribution Company

Mr Charles Momoh (Chairman, West Power and Gas), Dr Tunji Olowolafe (Director, West Power and Gas), Mr Ernest Orji (Director, West Power and Gas)

$135 million

14. Aura Energy Limited

Asset: Jos Electricity Distribution Company

Alhaji Garba Mohammed Noma,

$82 million

Those who eat the wealth of a generation, the calamity of a generation will befall them.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *