Group Appoints Olubadan To Replace Late Alaafin In Yoruba Peace Committee 


A Yoruba youth group, Agbarijo Egbe Odo Yoruba (Grand Council of Yoruba Youths) has nominated the Olubadan of Ibadan land, Oba (Sen) Dr Mahood Olalekan Balogun (Alli Okunmade II) as a replacement for the late Alaafin of Oyo, Oba Lamidi Olayiwola Adeyemi III as host of Yoruba Unity Agenda Committee

A letter signed by Comrade Awa Bamiji, President-General of Agbarijo Egbe Odo Yoruba addressed to the Royal Majesty sighted by Eighteen-Eleven Media correspondent said there was no iota of truth in the widely reported story that a committee, headed by General Alani Akinrinade (Rtd.) has been set up to convince the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, to step down for the Vice-President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo. 

“There is no committee of South-West leaders headed by General Alani Akinrinade (Rtd) in existence at all, not to talk of it making effort to convince the National Leader of All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, to step down for the Vice President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo’s aspiration because it will be win-win for both of them at the end of the day.”

While pointing out that it commends any good move to bring South-West political gladiators together in love, especially all open and rumoured presidential aspirants in Yorubaland, Agbarijo Egbe Odo Yoruba stressed that it is also important that such move must be balanced, objective, consultative and highly acceptable to the generality of the people.

“Therefore, we must at this stage recognize various reconciliation efforts that had commenced before now, from various groups and individuals, most especially from the traditional sector, which was led by our two highly respected royal fathers, Oba Lamidi Olayiwola Adeyemi III, JP, CFR, LLD, and Oba Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi Ojaja II, Alaafin of Oyo and Ooni of Ife respectively.

“To this regard, we Yoruba youths, after due consultation with elders, came up with this proposed Yoruba Unity Agenda Committee list to bring together in love the following Yoruba open and rumoured aspirants, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, Governor Kayode Fayemi, Senator Ibikunle Amosun and Pastor Tunde Bakare ahead of 30th May All Progressives’ Congress (APC) Presidential Primaries. 

Agbarijo Egbe Odo Yoruba gave the members of the committee to include Gen Alani Akinrinade (Rtd) (Yoruba Assembly); Alaafin of Oyo; Ooni of Ife; Archbishop Ayo Ladigbolu (Yoruba Unity Forum);  Dr Kunle Olajide (Yoruba Council of Elders); Prof Bolanle Awe (Yoruba Elders, Women wing);  Prince Tajudeen Olusi (Yoruba Elders, men wing); Comrade Awa Bamiji (Yoruba Youths). 

The group said due to the sudden demise of Alaafin of Oyo last Friday, “it’ was unanimously agreed upon that we should approach your Royal Majesty to take over from him as the host of this historic meeting, simply because you are not only from Oyo State like late Alaafin of Oyo but you are also the present Olubadan of Ibadanland, the South-West political headquarters, where the meeting will take place” 

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *